TATM Classics #151: The Ugly Truth & United 93

tatmclassics

THE UGLY TRUTH ** (2009)

The movie is about a romantically challenged TV producer, Abby, (Katherine Heigl) who can’t stands her new male chauvinist star, Mike, (Gerard Butler) until he agrees to help her find love with her next door neighbor (Eric Winter) using his instincts and expertise. The movie is basically a typical romantic comedy and you know how it’s going to end with Heigl and Butler getting together. But you know what, about all of the stuff that comes of Butler’s mouth is laugh-out-loud funny and the chemistry between him and Heigl is pretty good.

UNITED 93 ***** (2006)

The film is based on the true events that happened on Flight 93, the plane that was hijacked by terrorists on September 11th and crashed in Somerset, PA, in which 40 passengers tried to save themselves and stop terrorists who hijacked the plane. Somerset, PA is about an hour and a half from where I live, I live in Murrysville, PA in Westmoreland, and I’ll always remember coming home early from school the moment they said the plane crashed in Somerset. United 93 was the first major theatrical release about the attacks and a lot of people back then were wondering if it was too early to have a movie about September 11th. I was one of those people who felt that it was time for a movie about this, a lot of people felt that it wasn’t time for one. When I saw the movie the weekend it opened back in April 2006, I was still doing my movie review show in high school. The day I went, which was a Sunday, the theater was packed with so many people which surprised me because I think the film was not the big success that Universal was hoping for. Nevertheless, watching the movie was one of the most riveting film going experiences I’ve ever had. United 93 was one of my favorite movies that came out that year…and yet I haven’t seen it since then. Why? Because it’s one of those movies that as much as I love it, and I really like that movie a lot, it’s so hard to watch because of what the film is about. The last act of the film alone is so heart wrenching to watch because you know what happened. As much as you want to root for the passengers on the flight, you know what’s coming. And when it happens, the theater went quiet and you could hear people tearing up as they were walking out. The day after when I went back to school, the first thing I did was planned to do an episode devoted to how good United 93 was. Back when I did the review show, my rating bar ranged from 0 to 5 panther paws, because the school’s mascot was the Panthers, and at that point, I never had seen a really great movie over 5. I created a special award for how great the movie was. I can’t remember what it was called but I got a lot of praise from my friends and some of the teachers for highly recommending the film. United 93 is directed by Paul Greengrass, one of the best directors we have right now, and he does an incredible job re-enacting a day we will never forget to the point that it really hurts to watch this happen all over again. Even though I have not seen United 93 since I saw it in the theater, I still remember every moment from that film and I still recommend the film even to this very day.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in TATM Classics

Leave a Reply

