Talking Simpsons #453: My Fair Laddy

talkingsimpsons

My Fair Laddy, the 12th episode of season 17 and the 368th overall was first broadcasted on February 26, 2006 with a script by Michael Price and directed by Bob Anderson.

File:My Fair Laddy.png

Lisa attempts to transform Groundskeeper Willie into a proper gentleman after Groundskeeper Willie’s shack collapses and, like many other secondary and one-time characters over the years, is forced to live with The Simpsons. Meanwhile, Homer becomes a human billboard to save the company that makes his pants.

Honestly, this one was one that I was dreading to watch because I saw that image and all I could think to myself is, “wow, that’s kind of corny.” And Willie just looks….weird in that image so, my expectation for this was very low at first but you know what, never let your expectations take over your overall thought because not only did I end up enjoying this one but this is one of the better episodes of this season.

I was really shocked at how much I enjoyed this episode, I think the main plot with Lisa trying to help Willie into a proper man was actually pretty solid and the episode does a good job being an essential parody of My Fair Lady and getting some pretty solid laughs in the process. I even liked the second subplot with Homer, again, not expecting much from that, but I’ll be damned if it did not make me laugh more than I thought it would.

The overall episode was really, really, good and this is one of the few brightspots of a struggling season of the series where you would expect better from them and this is definitely that.

Follow The Reviewing Network at our Facebook page at Facebook.com/TheReviewingNetwork for continuing updates and debuts for new blog posts and also follow my Twitter feed so you can see new postings right as they are posted.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Talking Simpsons
One comment on “Talking Simpsons #453: My Fair Laddy

Leave a Reply

