TATM: Talkin’ About The Movies #253: Oscar Predictions

newtatmlogo

It’s that time of the year again, folks, tonight is the 89th annual Academy Awards and that means it’s time for my annual Oscar predictions leading into tonight’s big awards show so, let’s not waste any time, you know the spiel by now, I split my predictions into two categories, who I think will win and who I think should win, and explain why I made such decisions. So, let’s get to it:

BEST PICTURE

Who I think will and should win: La La Land

La La Land should really have no trouble cleaning up at the Oscars tonight and I’m sure it’s going to be best picture. Dark horse contenders tonight could also end up being Moonlight and even Hidden Figures, which just surpassed La La Land as the highest grossing Best Picture nominee this year so do not be surprise if either one of those two wins tonight but I highly believe La La Land will indeed win.

BEST DIRECTOR

Who I think will and should win: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Regardless on if La La Land wins Best Picture tonight, Chazelle will definitely get it tonight for Best Director no matter what.

BEST ACTOR

Who I think will win: Denzel Washington, Fences

Who I think should win: Ryan Gosling, La La Land OR Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea

Denzel Washington seems to be the frontrunner here tonight to get his third Oscar as an actor and he deserves it, he did a good job in Fences but Ryan Gosling is also a name to watch out for tonight for La La Land as well as Casey Affleck for Manchester By The Sea.

BEST ACTRESS

Who I think will and should win: Emma Stone, La La Land

Emma Stone has this one locked down, she’ll get the award tonight easily.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Who I think will win: Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Who I think should win: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight

This year’s Best Supporting Actor category is not quite as strong as in past years and they tend to give this award to the actor who has never won it before and I think Michael Shannon will win it tonight but at the same time, there is buzz for Mahershala Ali for Moonlight so there’s a chance he could end up being the big upset of the night.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Who I think will and should win: Viola Davis, Fences

This one is a no-brainer, Viola Davis has been nominated a number of times and tonight is her time to get the Oscar as she was the best of all the competition this year.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Who I think will win: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Who I think should win: Kenneth Longeran, Manchester By The Sea

Of the nominated films, La La Land will more than likely win this one for original screenplay although Manchester By The Sea could end up getting it too.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Who I think will win: Barry Jenkins & Tarrell Alvin McCraney, Moonlight

Who I think should win: August Wilson, Fences

Moonlight, I think, will easily win this category but I think that Fences should get the award because it was such a good adaptation of the original play that stayed true to the original story that Wilson set up mostly because this was written before his 2005 death.

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Who I think will win: Zootopia OR Moana

Who I think should win: Kubo & The Two Strings

At this point, either Disney animated film this year will win, I think the edge is going to go to Zootopia but don’t be surprised if Moana ends up winning. At the same time, my ultimate wish is that Kubo & The Two Strings finally gives Laika the Oscar they so deserve to win.

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

Who I think will and should win: Toni Erdmann (Germany)

Have not seen any of the nominations this year so I’m just taking the most popular of the bunch at the box office so, Germany wins it.

BEST DOCUMENTARY – FEATURE

Who I think will win: OJ: Made In America

Who I think should win: 13th

All the buzz seems to be on OJ: Made In America this year for this one but part of me wants 13th to win so that Ava Duvernay can finally have an Oscar to her name that she deserved from Selma.

BEST DOCUMENTARY – SHORT SUBJECT

Who I think will and should win: Joe’s Violin

Just another random guess having not seen any of the nominees.

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM

Who I think will and should win: Sing

Again, random guess.

BEST ANIMATED SHORT FILM

Who I think will and should win: Piper

Only one I saw in the theater so…Piper.

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

Who I think will and should win: Justin Hurwitz, La La Land

Going with the musical in the category.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

Who I think will win: City Of Stars, La La Land

Who I think should win: How Far I’ll Go, Moana

Got the feeling La La Land will take the award this year but I want Lin Manuel Miranda to win the Oscar for the song he wrote for Moana.

BEST SOUND EDITING

Who I think will win: Hacksaw Ridge

Who I think should win: Arrival

The sound categories usually award the action films in these categories so, either one of these could win but it could also go to Deepwater Horizon or Sully too. I think Hacksaw Ridge will end up winning it.

BEST SOUND MIXING

Who I think will win: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Who I think should win: Arrival

Again, the action films usually win these categories so wild guesses here, Rogue One I think will win it but it could end up going to any of the action films nominated.

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN

Who I think will and should win: La La Land

Another one that I think La La Land will end up winning easily.

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Who I think will and should win: La La Land

The cinematography was one of the best aspects of La La Land so I think it should have no trouble winning this award.

BEST MAKEUP & STYLING

Who I think will and should win: Star Trek Beyond

Not that many choices in this one but I think the makeup work on Star Trek Beyond was the best of the three nominees.

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

Who I think will and should win: La La Land

I just feel like that La La Land will easily take this one too.

BEST FILM EDITING

Who I think will and should win: La La Land

Of the nominees, La La Land had the best editing of the five nominated films.

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

Who I think will win: The Jungle Book

Who I think should win: Kubo & The Two Strings

The Jungle Book had some pretty groundbreaking visual effects and I think that will be the big thing that the Oscars looks at heading into tonight but I wish some love can be thrown to Kubo & The Two Strings as well as it is a rare animated film to be nominated for this award.

Follow The Reviewing Network at our Facebook page at Facebook.com/TheReviewingNetwork for continuing updates and debuts for new blog posts and also follow my Twitter feed so you can see new postings right as they are posted.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in TATM: Talkin' About The Movies

Leave a Reply

