Talking Simpsons #476: Kill Gil, Volumes I & II

Kill Gil, Volumes I & II, the 9th episode of season 18 and the 387th overall, was first broadcasted on December 17, 2006 with a script by Jeff Westbrook and directed by Bob Anderson.

Kill Gil, Volumes I & II promotional image.png

After Gil Gunderson gives Lisa a Malibu Stacy doll reserved for Mr. Costington’s daughter, he gets fired as a mall Santa and moves in with the Simpsons. Meanwhile, Homer picks a fight with Ice Capades character The Grumple.

This is another one of those episodes that I think gets trashed on too much, I actually found myself really enjoying this one a lot. I liked how they actually gave Gil his own character arc, I liked how even somebody who’s as kind as Marge has her own limits and with the stuff that Gil does to the family in this, Marge has a definite reason for getting as mad as she does here. Hell, I even liked the ridiculously stupid subplot with Homer and The Grumple, it was stupid but I laughed my ass off whenever the Grumple showed up.

Yeah, this was not the best written nor was it the strongest Christmas episode the show has ever done but I genuinely laughed hard and I think this episode is a whole lot better than most people give it credit for.

Follow The Reviewing Network at our Facebook page at Facebook.com/TheReviewingNetwork for continuing updates and debuts for new blog posts and also follow my Twitter feed so you can see new postings right as they are posted.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Talking Simpsons
One comment on “Talking Simpsons #476: Kill Gil, Volumes I & II

Leave a Reply

