Batman: The Animated Series 25th Anniversary #16: The Cat & The Claw, Part 2

Image result for the cat and the claw

Part 2 of The Cat & The Claw was broadcasted on September 12, 1992 with a script by Jules Dennis and Richard Mueller and a story by Sean Catherine Derek & Laren Bright and directed by Dick Sebast.

The leader of the Red Claw group (known herself only as Red Claw) attacks a military train and steals a viral plague, which she intends to release in Gotham if she isn’t paid a ransom.

AND….that’s about all that’s memorable about this one. I just love how awkwardly he says that line “Not at all, I’m an equal opportunity crime fighter”, it’s just such a bad line of dialogue but the way Kevin Conroy says it, it is just hilariously awkward.

But other than that, I’m really not going to talk much about this episode mostly because a lot of my criticism from part one is in this one too.

I already talked about how Red Claw’s motivations are not well thought out, I already talked about how I did like the chemistry between Bruce & Selena, I already talked about how I hated the environmental plotline, I already talked about how I didn’t like the villain’s random plot change in the second act, what else is there left to say?

I’ve already also said that in the past most of the two parters usually have one half that’s better than the other and then you have ones like The Cat & The Claw which are not very good at all. To me, this is still the worst two parter the show has ever done and that’s mostly because there’s not an interesting overall plot going on.

Watching this one again, I can honestly say that The Cat & The Claw episodes are the first two episodes that I can honestly say are pretty bad, two of the rare bad Batman: The Animated Series episodes I’ve looked at so far.

Tagged with:
Posted in The Reviewing Network Specials
One comment on “Batman: The Animated Series 25th Anniversary #16: The Cat & The Claw, Part 2

Leave a Reply

