More To Say #33: Bebe’s Kids

File:Bebes kids.jpg

Bébé’s Kids (released on home media as Robin Harris’ Bébé’s Kids) is a 1992 American animated comedy film produced by Reginald Hudlin and Hyperion Pictures, directed by Bruce W. Smith, and released on July 31, 1992 by Paramount Pictures.

The film is based upon comedian Robin Harris’ “Bébé’s Kids” stand-up comedy act. It features the voices of Faizon Love (in his film debut), Vanessa Bell Calloway, Marques Houston, Nell Carter, and Tone Lōc, as well as Tom Everett, Rich Little, and Louie Anderson. It was filmed in 1991.

I remember watching this movie for the first time on video in the mid 90s not really knowing a whole lot about what this was. I remember seeing the trailer for this on the VHS for Cool World when I rented that tape and the 9 year old in me thought “hmm, this might be worth a watch.” So I watched it and for a kid my age at that time, it was fine.

It’s been about 20 years since I’ve watched it again but I found a DVD of it recently at Half Price Books….which, by the way, was not half price at all, the original price on the DVD was $39.99 mostly because it was out of print and luckily, I didn’t pay that much, I think I paid about $25 for it, which is still pretty expensive but you know what, better to pay that than friggin’ $40, which by the way, was in one of the Movie Stop episodes I did.

So, after all this time, I finally sat down and watched it again and….it’s just okay. Yeah, it’s just okay.

I mean, it really is just okay.

The animation is very good, this is Hyperion Studios, the same animation studio that did The Brave Little Toaster and Rover Dangerfield and would later go on to do The Proud Family for Disney Channel, these guys are usually great when it comes to animation and it definitely shows here.

But other than that, there’s nothing really about this that’s memorable, I mean, it’s just okay. The voice work is perfectly fine, the story is a generic story, the comedy isn’t really there, the movie is just okay. There’s nothing that exciting about this movie, to be honest, I’m surprised this movie got made as an animated movie because you could’ve made this into a live-action feature as it is and it would’ve probably been a little bit better but as it stands, it really is just okay.

Follow The Reviewing Network at our Facebook page at Facebook.com/TheReviewingNetwork for continuing updates and debuts for new blog posts and also follow my Twitter feed so you can see new postings right as they are posted.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in More To Say

Leave a Reply

